Getting Sick Sucks

I rarely get sick.  Don’t ask me how I got that way.  But this is one of those times where the germs have me in a headlock.

So here I am, the third day into this combination cold and fever.  I sound terrible, but how I feel is an improvement over the past couple of days.

Yesterday, I decided to walk 40 minutes to the local Wal-Mart Supercenter, paper towels in pocket to make sure my nose was free of the wet snot it would be discharging.

As I’m walking back home, my left foot starts feeling the sensation of stepping on a pebble every time I press down.  Now I know there’s no way there’s a pebble in my shoe, because there wasn’t any to begin with when I put my shoes on.  So whatever it was, it was bad.

I get home, and sure enough, my now trashed left sock was completely red on the left side  in the area where the toes go.  I look at the bottom of my foot.  Not only did the right side of my foot by the toes blister up, but it was a blood blister that had popped open about the size of a half-dollar.

So now, on top of nursing a cold and a fever, I have to be careful pressing down with my left foot.

When it rains, it pours.

Leave a Reply

