The Garbage Can Lid

Today is Wednesday morning…or at least it was when I typed this.

On Wednesdays and Saturdays, the local Waste Management team comes by in the morning and collects our garbage.  And this was the case again this morning.

I was munching on my Honey Nut Cheerios breakfast when they came by today. So I thought, let me finish up the food, then I’ll go out and bring the plastic garbage can in.

Only one thing was wrong, the caps to our garbage containers were missing.  Not just mine, but everyone else’s as well.  Had some ragamuffins come by over night and stolen our caps?  Were there shenanigans and chicanery to report?

Well, not so lucky.  While I slept last night, a cold front had come through the peninsula of Florida, leaving us a very stiff northwest wind.  My garbage can cap, left on the ground and not on or nearby the can, had already flown one house down to my south in the five minutes between collection and my retrieval.

The moral of the story: you can think what you want, but do a little investigating before accusations are made.

Leave a Reply

