A Trip To Petco

Say hello to my little friend: clowning around with my landlord's cat, Harry, back in July.
Say hello to my little friend: clowning around with my landlord’s cat, Harry, back in July.

On a quiet Sunday morning, I took my landlord’s cat Harry to the nearby Petco off of US 19 here in Pinellas Park to get his nails clipped in preparation for his return to his owners in a couple of weeks.

There’s a bit of a backstory here.

The last time I traveled with an animal was back in 1989 when I was a senior in high school, and we had to take a cocker spaniel named Holly to the vet off of Seminole Boulevard in Seminole. We didn’t have a kennel to put her in, so she rode with my dad while I rode shotgun.

She’d never been in a vehicle before with us, and was barking up a storm. Not only that, but she proceeded to defecate all over the car! Dog dung was almost everywhere with very little on hand to clean it up. If that wasn’t embarrassing enough, one of my teachers from Largo High School was saying hello to me while we’re cleaning up, and she had to have noticed all the land mines Holly had left in my dad’s jeep.

Fast forwarding to here and now, Harry’s trip to and from Petco was uneventful. He cooperated with me and allowed me to place him in his kennel, and the trip up was full of him meowing, no doubt wondering “Hey! Where are we going?!?” Once the Petco employees did their jobs and did their manicuring work, he didn’t say a word until he got back to the safety of his home.

Leave a Reply

