Christmas Time

1474413_10151787099537466_274003589_nI usually get philosophical over the holidays. I don’t know why, but I usually find the holiday season a good time to take inventory of what’s going on in the world and in my life.

As 2013 winds down, I am beginning to see that the more “better” society tries to make things, in some ways it gets worse. We have new technologies coming to us every day on cell phones, but the new gizmos don’t necessarily enhance our lives. They are more of a distraction than anything else.

I am not signing up for Obamacare until the last day of enrollment on March 31, 2014, provided that their website actually works. If my government wants to fine me, send me the bill, and I’ll do my level best to pay it.

Society is becoming way too divided. The whole “Duck Dynasty” flap proves that. Whatever happened to live and let live? Why is it that if someone defends heterosexuality, they are at risk of losing their place in society? And note how fans of the show got Cracker Barrel restaurants to change their stance. When I lived in Marietta, Georgia in 1996, there was a Cracker Barrel not too far from where I lived. Loved it.

Sooner or later, we have to get to two simple concepts:

Peace on earth.

Good will towards men.  (And women too.)

Merry Christmas!

 

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

