Guess Who Won The Pony?

The voting sign at my polling pace, March 11, 2014.  Actually, I voted by mail several weeks prior to this.
The voting sign at my polling pace, March 11, 2014. Actually, I voted by mail several weeks prior to this.

David Jolly is our newest congressman to represent out district, only the second such person to represent my district in my lifetime.  He fills the vacancy created after the death of C.W. Bill Young, who passed away last fall.

Mr. Jolly narrowly defeated Alex Sink, who only lost by less than a couple of percentage points in one of the finest showings by a Democrat in our district in decades.  A good turnout at the polls and outstanding weather for March in Pinellas County (a nearly 80 degree day with sunny weather) tremendously helped her cause.

However, I wonder if Sink’s ship was sunk by all the robocalling done in her behalf in the last two days.

Some tweets of mine on the afternoon of March 11, 2014.
Some tweets of mine on the afternoon of March 11, 2014.

On Twitter, I kept track of the voluminous number of calls I got from the Alex Sink campaign on March 10th and then the 11th, election day.  Full disclosure here: I am a registered independent and have been since late 2012, after being a Republican during most of 2012 so that I could vote for Ron Paul in the primaries.

In a two day span, I received 13 calls.  Five on the 10th, eight on the 11th.  That’s eight in between the hours 10am to just past 6pm from four different numbers, three of which I mentioned on Twitter today. The lion’s share of the calls were of the pre-recorded.  I work at home doing transcriptions, so needless to say this was a thorn in my side all day long.  And no, I don’t believe in just letting the phone ring and not answering.  As I’ve explained in the past, that process does no good, because most of the people who call you from out of nowhere will simply call again. I give them the options of either defecating, or getting off the pot.  If they play games, I usually play back at them until THEY quit.

During one stretch on Monday, I vowed to yell if I got another call from Alex Sink in rapid succession when I heard the phone. So sure enough, I yelled at the pre-recorded voice of Jon “Bowzer” Bauman.

And no, his hosting of the ill-fated Match Game-Hollywood Squares Hour back in 1983 and 1984 had nothing to do with it, thank you very much, train wreck of a game show that was.

I don’t really blame Alex Sink and her merry band of robocallers for this.  The people didn’t mess up that allowed these cannonade of calls to get to me. The system did, because they pass on the numbers of voters over to the respective parties. If there is an opt-out process in which callers could respectively decline such calls, that system needs to reach more ears and fingers.

But did the robocalling cost Sink the election? Well, Alex Sink and David Jolly might have another chance to prove who the better candidate is in November if Sink runs again and gets through another round of primaries.

The Democrats had a great chance, probably the best chance they will see in a while, and yet it’s another GOP candidate who rules this area at the congressional level.

3 thoughts on “Guess Who Won The Pony?

Leave a Reply

