The Greatest Thing Since Sliced Bread

As I type this, I’m listening to a spring training game between the Minnesota Twins and the Tampa Bay Rays via the Major League Baseball’s At Bat 14 IPhone app off of WDAE (620 The Sports Animal) in Tampa.

But I’m not listening by my IPhone, I’m listening to the MLB Gameday Audio system which you can punch up on the computer. That was the one thing that kept me from pulling the trigger on this earlier, figuring out if At Bat and Gameday Audio were interchangeable.  MLB’s website really didn’t make that point clear as I poured through the data, so when I get At Bat 14 a couple of weeks ago, I punched up a random game on the computer, and sure enough it worked that way.  In fact, the audio service works better on the computer, because you can listen to games from earlier in the day on a stream if you so choose, whereas with At Bat you’re limited to live games.

Some of you are no doubt wondering why I didn’t get the TV package. Well, it’s a great service, but at $20 a month it seemed a bit pricey to me, considering you can get video on Netflix for a given month at just $8.66 a month, plus the service isn’t available as abundantly as Netflix is.

However, I do think there’s a future in the “Netflixation” of sports. The WWE launched a package recently where you can watch any wrestling pay-per-view of note dating back to the early 1980’s. I’m sure other sports will follow suit, offering classic games, fights, and so forth dating back through the decades. I can also see this replacing the expensive venture of 24/7 networks covering one sport, and the $50 to $60 some fight circuits charge for one night’s worth of fights.

If you are a sports fan, your future looks a little brighter.

Leave a Reply

