The Art Of Hen Pecking

Striking a pose with my IPhone, from December 9, 2013.
Striking a pose with my IPhone, from December 9, 2013.

My mother wanted to get an IPhone yesterday morning, so she brought along an expert to make sure she didn’t get taken advantage of: me.

By the time we got to the Verizon store here in Pinellas Park, there were more people working there (three) then they had customers (two). They show her an IPhone 5c, let her pick out a plan, give her a screen protector and a nice case.

And this is where the fun begins. Instead of ringing her up and letting her go, the visit to Verizon becomes something resembling the Spanish Inquisition.

They show her a Samsung tablet. Not an IPad, but a Samsung tablet. She wasn’t interested.

They ask her about her home phone. They tell her they have a better plan. She wasn’t interested.

They ask about her cable. They tell her they have a better cable system via FIOS. She wasn’t interested.

You can see where this is going, right?

Not to be deterred, they tell her about a home security system. She wasn’t interested.

My mother is now shooting me exasperated looks, as if to say, “I just came in here to buy a new phone.”

I shoot her a look back as if to say, “I’m noticing this.”

Before they give her the IPhone and the accessories that come with it, they remind me that they have a special for those with other phone carriers if they switch over to Verizon. Namely, me.

And yes, I wasn’t interested, especially seeing how they treated my mom as if she had won the Powerball lottery.

Leave a Reply

