How Much Is Too Much?

One of the many four pound hamburgers that can be found at Tropicana Field this year for $30.  If you can eat it and the pound of french fries, you win free tickets to a future Rays game.
One of the many four pound hamburgers that can be found at Tropicana Field this year for $30. If you can eat it and the pound of french fries, you win free tickets to a future Rays game.

It seems a lot of Major League Baseball teams have super sized food items for you to eat these days. For instance, the Texas Rangers have a beyond extra large hot dog you can eat, or share with your friends. The Arizona Diamondbacks do a similar deal with a corn dog like piece of food.

My local club, the Tampa Bay Rays, have introduced a four pound cheeseburger with a ton of toppings, including a load of bacon, plus one pound of french fries.

Four pounds of cheeseburger?!?

Are they trying to kill off their fans, slowly but surely?

I’m a big guy, and I can eat a lot in a sitting if I wanted to, but my body is beginning to pay the price for a lifetime of gluttony. If I ate four pounds of cheeseburger and a pound of fries, even I have my doubts that it wouldn’t effect my health in some fashion if not immediately, then at some point in the future.

I’m also not asking for government to intervene, or anything like that. The super-mega corn dogs are selling fast in Phoenix, for one. But I’m worried that the pig-outs these ballparks offer are going to cause long-term harm to baseball fans in major league cities. It used to be said when you went to local ballpark that you should think before you drink. Now you have to think before you eat as well.

Leave a Reply

