Stale Bread

Frankie Grande (left) discusses things with fellow Big Brother contestant Caleb Reynolds (right) on July 28, 2014.
Frankie Grande (left) discusses things with fellow Big Brother contestant Caleb Reynolds (right) on July 28, 2014.

As many of you know, I write a weekly column about the US and Canadian Big Brother series over at a sister blog I run called The Big Brother Diaries. There is a general feeling this year that despite a pretty decent cast on paper for the show’s sixteenth season, the series hasn’t gotten stale. As the live feeds ramble on through their over 2,100 hours of coverage spanning around 90 days, I have to say I have to agree with this. Much like sometimes you see in the movies, a good cast doesn’t always produce a good show.

Big Brother is the only reality show I watch anymore that’s an elimination contest. I watch a little Pawn Stars and Hardcore Pawn from time to time, but that’s totally a show, of course. Have the other reality shows gotten just as stale? Is anyone interested in the 29th Survivor winner this fall, or the 14th American Idol winner next year? Doubt it.

I think the genre has just about run its course, and it’s just a matter of time before it’s banish all together. My guess would be sometime around 2020 for the contests, maybe a little longer for the shows.

 

One thought on “Stale Bread”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.