Charley

What Hurricane Charley was projected to do, the morning of August 13th, 2004.  Instead, Charley made a hard right and went through Orlando and up the Atlantic coast.
What Hurricane Charley was projected to do, the morning of August 13th, 2004. Instead, Charley made a hard right and went through Orlando and up the Atlantic coast.

I got lucky with Hurricane Charley. It was probably luck I did not deserve.

On August 13, 2004, I did not evacuate the apartment I was living in over in Largo. I should have, but I stayed put to the last minute.

You see, I lived here all my life, and I’ve seen a few hurricane threats come and go.  Elena in 1985, Georges in 1998.  I just had a hard time believing we would get a hurricane here in Tampa Bay.

What usually happens is that hurricanes either go to the Panhandle or to southwest or southeast Florida.  If a hurricane hits here, it’s usually either very early or late in the year, because either end of the state works as a shield for us.

Sure enough, the media on the morning of 8/13/2004 began looking at their radar loops and noticed that the storm wasn’t going to get to Tampa Bay at all. It instead went in around the Port Charlotte/Punta Gorda area, still a category two hurricane by the time Orlando got it.

One day, Tampa Bay will not be so lucky. Just hope I am not around when that day comes.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

One thought on “Charley”

Leave a Reply

