Farewell To Harry

I enjoyed taking care of Harry, but he had a wild side to him...
I enjoyed taking care of Harry, but he had a wild side to him that would have been a determinant if I permanently took care of him.

Over New Year’s, I had to make a very tough decision.  My landlord asked me if I wanted to take care of Harry, the tabby cat I’ve been taking care of the past five years over the spring and summer months, on a permanent basis.

I had to say no.

I liked Harry very much.  In fact, I often wondered if Harry got along with me better than he did with his owners.  The problem was that Harry was a very temperamental cat who would often bite someone out of the blue when they weren’t expecting it.

From what I’ve been told, he will shortly go to the ASPCA and from there, who knows what happens to him.

My decision was not an easy one, and I hope I’m not condemning my little buddy to a premature death by making this decision, though I fear I have.

It sucks.

(EDIT: A couple of weeks later, I would reverse this decision, as I wrote about here.)

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

One thought on “Farewell To Harry”

Leave a Reply

