The IPhone Rice Trick

My Snapshot5
Shaking but not baking my IPhone…

You’d think at the age of 43, I wouldn’t be so stupid.  But there I was, looking at my IPhone in the washer and dryer and not on my person.  I thought for sure it was a goner, gone off to Cell Phone Heaven.

My landlord wanted to get a leaky pipe fixed that oozed water up from a tile floor if the weather conditions were right and the washer was on.  After a few days of consultations with plumbers and roofers here at my complex who agreed to disagree, it was determined that the pipe needed desperate repair, and that the leaks at other places were due to stress in the concrete.  A few hours later, all was new again.

On this very cold (for us here in Florida, mind you) Friday morning, the repairman needed to do a wash, so I took off the bathrobe I had on (don’t worry, I had plenty of clothes on underneath), and forgot to take the IPhone out.

My landlord, with some help with my friends on Twitter and Facebook, suggested I put the IPhone in some rice.  It sounded ludicrous at first, but the more I thought about it, the more it made sense that the kernels of rice would absorb the excess water.  So I emptied a bag of yellow rice and my waterlogged IPhone 4 into a Ziploc bag and let it sit for 72 hours.

Sure enough, I removed the IPhone tonight, as was able to restore it as if nothing happened.

Moral of the story: if someone tells you to put your IPhone into a bag of rice: DO IT!  Don’t even question it.  It worked for me, and it’s the best rice I’ve ever had and I didn’t even eat it.

Leave a Reply

