Halfway To Stanley

let-it-ride

The Tampa Bay Lightning need just two more games to win a Stanley Cup, provided the Chicago Blackhawks don’t when three games before they win their two.

Watching the game last night I felt like Richard Dreyfuss’s character in the 1989 movie Let It Ride. Not that I couldn’t stop gambling, but that at the end of the movie he’s got all of his winnings tied to one horse for a big payday. He looks in the horse’s eyes, and the horse seems to be looking back at him, and it gives him a huge shot of confidence.

Usually when the Lightning play a big playoff game and it’s tight late, I’m nervous. But much like Jay Trotter, I found myself thinking not nervously but confidently, knowing that the Lightning would win. Sure enough, a goal by Cedric Paquette with about three minutes left in the third period did the deed.

I haven’t wrapped my head around a second Stanley Cup for the Tampa Bay Lightning in franchise history. It’s probably time I started, though, as it just might happen.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

