Bullies, Bitches, And Choices

I was reading this article recently that equated unfriending people on Facebook to bullying. Now do you know why I sometimes think Facebook is the devil?

What’s next? Will it be considered bullying to unfollow someone on Twitter? Sometimes on my Twitter accounts I have to unfollow people to make room for people who choose to follow me. It is anything personal when I do that, it’s just good business sense.

Yes, I’ve unfriended people on Facebook before. (Someone up in northwest Pasco county will be nodding her head reading me say that at some point.) Sometimes I was pigheaded, sometimes I was standing up for people doing it.

A couple of years ago, one of my long time female friends was complaining about one of my other friends being a so-called conspiracy theorist. I’m thinking: so, why take this to me? My guess was that an ultimatum had been thrown down: disassociate myself from this friend or else we won’t be friends.

I guess she did that thinking I would not have the cojones to unfriend her. What she didn’t realize is that the friend in question went to my high school and was dating one of my high school classmates and someone who I considered a very good friend. The long time friend who was forcing me to make a choice didn’t take that into account, and if she didn’t realize those facts, that was not my problem, nor was it going to be made mine.

Needless to say, the friend forcing me to make a choice I haven’t spoken to since, and it’s nearly been two years since the incident happened. Not my fault she didn’t pick her battles a little more wisely.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

2 thoughts on “Bullies, Bitches, And Choices”

Leave a Reply

