Recent Listens And Reads

rockfordfiles

Here’s what I’m watching and listening to lately:

On Netflix, I’m watching a lot of The Rockford Files lately, a favorite TV show of mine of the past couple of decades. The show features James Garner as private investigator Jim Rockford, a pardoned ex-convict who finds himself in the middle of a series of misadventures, with Stuart Margolin as “Angel” Martin, a mischief magnet who gets Jim into trouble in a lot of the episodes from season two onwards.

The creator of the series, David Chase, would have a big-time hit a couple of decades later with The Sopranos, and I think most of you have heard of that particular show.

I recently got rid of Kindle Unlimited and subscribed to Tunein for it’s wide library of audiobooks. I figured I could get more use out of those than the books KU could give you for $10 or so a month, plus the audio books are a better quality of book then what Kindle offers for their subscription. I’m certainly listening to They Call Me Baba Booey, the life story of Howard Stern’s producer, Gary Dell’Abate. Howard and Gary have a unique relationship as host and producer, something I can relate to with the radio travels I had from 1989 to 1996.

What sealed the deal for me on the Tunein subscription was that they throw in MLB and NFL games (which I just discovered) and other sports events, such as Premier League soccer. As I type this up, I’m listening to the Royals-Astros ALDS playoff game off of ESPN’s radio feed, while my TV has the Patriots-Cowboys NFL game with the sound down.

In other words, I’m media multitasking.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

