The Expanding Twitterverse

twitter

I was pleased to see on Thanksgiving Day, stomach hung out after ingesting a load of turkey, that Twitter expanded the default number of handles you could follow from 2,000 to 5,000.

One of the reasons it made me happy is that those following me jumped from about 1,700 to (as of this morning) 1,945.

Before the boost to 5K, I had to play an internal and seemingly eternal eenie-meenie-minie-moe game as to who to keep and whom not to, and do so without trying to piss anybody off. If you have 1,819 followers or less, you were only allowed that 2,000 follower limit, and maybe 2-3 above that at any one time. With a 5,000 follower limit, you’ll need somewhere around 4,545 or 4,546 followers to get more handles to follow.

My revised tips to Twitter happiness? (I did write a book about that, you know.)

  1. Always follow people who follow you.
  2. BUT: If they do something you dislike, unfollow them. I’m the only one where I operate the computer who views my timeline, so female nudity I’m OK with. I usually draw the line at unpleasant photos or male body parts or fluids flying out of them.
  3. Use at least one hashtag a tweet. Be creative when doing so when you can’t figure out a way to do one right away.

That’s pretty much it. Happy tweeting, blogging, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

One thought on “The Expanding Twitterverse

Leave a Reply

