Kids From 1 To 92

There are some Christmases in my life that I wish would last a bit longer. But sadly, the Christmas of 2015 wasn’t among them. At the end of the day, I was wishing time could move a little faster.

As some of you many have heard, it was the warmest Christmas Day Tampa has had in recorded weather history that dates back to 1890. The thermometer soared to 86 degrees, breaking the old record of 83 that’s been set a few times, lastly in 1984. I was reminded online that the Christmas of 1955 was even warmer, but with the western United States getting colder than normal weather (and Las Vegas getting snow), I couldn’t help but wonder if I was in the wrong place in both the literal and figurative sense.

I bought the Christmas gift for my mother well ahead of even Thanksgiving: a signed 8×10 picture of the late baseball great Duke Snider that I got off of Amazon, and a sturdy frame to go with it. She’s a bit of a collection enthusiast, though I’m partially in charge of the storage of said collection. She had a very large portrait of Duke that she keeps in her bedroom that takes up a lot of space, so now she has a “Little Duke” to go with the larger one.

Harry, my 7 year old tabby cat who I acquired from my landlord back in January, got a brand new water/meal bowl, plus a trip to Petco this past Monday for some nail care so that he’s not grabbing furniture with his claws every time I need to pick the little fella up.

As for me, I’m getting a new external hard drive for the computer which will arrive Sunday (yep, Sunday) in the mail. I’ve had the same 1TB drive since 2009, so this new 4TB drive took care of the most immediate need. I don’t want to come off as ungrateful (though I’m afraid I’m going to), but one of the options on the table, unbeknownst to me, was that I’d get some Christmas money, let’s just say it’s a three-digit sum with zeroes on the end. What I wasn’t told that by accepting the hard drive, that would come out of my allotment of cash. If I was fully aware of all of the options, I would have simply taken the money, but I can’t help but feel sandbagged on the deal, so I argued a bit with my Mom, who I felt was trying to provoke me.

When I argue, especially with family, I do not argue to win or lose. I argue to make my argument, and I let the chips fall where they may. With parents, either as a child or as an adult, losing arguments is something that’s just going to happen whether you like it or not. We worked out a compromise that I could use, and that settled the matter.

I spent a lot of Christmas Eve and Christmas Day watching stuff off of Netflix and a 30-day trial subscription to Amazon Prime. Watched some movies, and a series called The Man In The High Castle which is excellent from what I can tell two episodes into the first season.

But like the old Mac Davis song, happiness is this Christmas in my rear view mirror. Heck, if they all went the way I wanted them too, what would be the point, right?

Onward to what I think will be a better year in 2016.

Leave a Reply

