Feeling Another Kind Of Burn

My Snapshot_5
Nope, not trying to make an obscene gesture. Showing off the bandage on my left middle finger.

A couple of weeks ago, I was making some pizza. For some reason I don’t remember, I was in a bit of a hurry to get the cooking done, so I sliced the pizza furiously, picking up a good part of it, holding the hot lower portion of the pie with ungloved fingers.

Needless to say, that was the wrong thing to do, but I didn’t realize it until I had sat down and started eating. A rather bulbous blister had formed on my middle finger, which looked very much like a second degree burn.

Not wanting my middle finger on my left hand to swell up to the width of Rhode Island, I went to the bathroom and broke the blister. I would learn a few hours later, looking this type of burn up on search engines, that this is the one thing you should NOT do. You can get an infection, but lucky for me, I didn’t have any of the side effects and warning signs mentioned in my queries.

What you should do if you get burned like this is:

  • Run cold water on your burn, preferably for at least 5 minutes, but even 2 minutes does wonders for it.
  • Put Neosporin or some similar ointment for it.
  • Get Band-Aid bandages and keep that sucker wrapped up, even if you need multiple bandages to do it. I started out needing two bandages for a while, but the length of the after-blister has shrunk, so now I just need one.
  • Repeat the above two steps every day until healed.

Twelve days in, it’s healing nicely, though I think I’ll need to bandage it for at least another week before it’s completely healed up, perhaps two weeks. I post this as a cautionary tale, so you know what to do if this happens to you. I had no idea breaking blisters is what you shouldn’t do, but I’m glad to be better informed now.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Another Kind Of Burn”

Leave a Reply

