Flashback: “I’ve Got My Mind Set On You” by James Ray

Put this in the “I didn’t know this was a remake” category for me.

“I’ve Got My Mind Set On You” was a big hit in the late 1980’s for the late George Harrison, one of the members of the famed Beatles group that “invaded” the US music scene back in 1964.

What I discovered this week is that the song was originally performed by James Ray in 1963. He would die of a drug overdose around that time, with some sources saying he passed as early as 1962 (making the record a posthumous release) or as late as 1964.

Pretty neat tune for its era, though.

Leave a Reply

