Ahoy-Hoy?

mrburns.png

Ah, the never-ending cat and mouse game with strange, unsolicited callers on my phone lines.

Lately, I’ve been getting calls from people wanting to sell security systems to me. You tell one number not to call you, then you get calls from another area code in another location selling the same thing.

I noticed that these calls are also getting more automated more often. So, instead of answering the phone by saying “Hello?” I use a phrase from the Mr. Burns character in The Simpsons:

“Ahoy-Hoy?”

This seems to confuse the automation on the other end of the phone, as if you hadn’t said anything. Within 15 seconds, they hang up.

Hopefully, I can confuse all of their lines into eventual submission.

2 thoughts on “Ahoy-Hoy?

  1. Have you heard of the Jolly Roger Telephone? There are some great youtube audio clips of their bot playing with telemarketing bots.

    1. I have indeed. Just don’t wanna tie up my phone line for minutes on end, because someone more important might call. My current thinking is get ’em up, move ’em out…Rawhide.

Leave a Reply

