Pokemon, Go Away

I was too old to get into the whole Pokemon craze back in the 1990’s, and I’m certainly too old to get into this “Pokemon Go” craze that has now invaded a mobile phone near you.

I’ve been seeing in the news that these people are so busy playing this damn game on basically a GPS map that they are finding dead bodies, falling off of cliffs, running into Police cars, and whatnot.

It all reminds me of a Star Trek: The Next Generation episode called “The Game” where Riker brings a game you play on a visor that’s psychologically addictive. What they didn’t know is that playing the game and the addiction it brought made the crew of the Enterprise pawns for an alien force. Riker shows off the game to others, they tell their friends about it, and so on. Soon the whole crew is addicted, except Wesley Crusher and friend Robin Lefler, played by a young Ashley Judd.

I’m not saying I don’t like my own games, and I think we all have our favorites. I’m just saying they should be consumed in moderation.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

