A Couple Of Days Off, And A Quiet Birthday

I had a quiet birthday yesterday, which is just the way I wanted it, actually. When you get to my age of now being 45, you kind of hope this day passes quietly.

The only thing I did different is where I had my birthday dinner. For the last 10 years (2006-2015), I’d be treated to the Zom Hee Chinese Restaurant in Seminole for dinner, and I felt that had run it’s course. I suggested the Red Lobster on US 19 instead, and those flipping the bill agreed. Nothing against Zom Hee, I just needed to change things up a bit.

I had a steak and salad dinner and some Samuel Adams beer to wash it down with, with plenty of biscuits and cole slaw. The waitress pushed their “endless shrimp” hard, and as some of you know, employees at a food point pushing their own (or management’s) agenda as to what you should eat is a pet peeve of mine.

I got congratulatory e-mails, tweets, and Facebook posts from a slew of people, because that’s the age we live in. They used to say on the TV show Cheers that everybody knows your name, well in our technologically advanced age, these are the places everyone knows your birthday.

As you may have noticed, I took a couple of days off from blogging, which I haven’t done in nearly a year. Just felt I could use that break, plus my favorite TV show isn’t giving me a heck of a lot of material as its 18th season winds down. No, I don’t have any interest in covering the fall online-only extra season when that starts, one season a year is plenty for me.

Well, back to my regularly scheduled life.

Leave a Reply

