The Stress Of The Season

I went to Walmart this Sunday morning around 10:30. Talk about a madhouse.

Usually, I prefer going early, like 7:00-8:00 or so, but events conspired against me a little bit today that got me there later. Plus, the things I had to get were scattered a bit throughout the store, which prolonged the agony a bit.

A lady with a couple of kids cut me off as I was trying to get around one of the slow pokes, and I must have grimaced or somehow facially exposed my dismay. She went “wow” at me, like why are you so upset? I didn’t really want to get into it with her, as I wasn’t there to discuss my feelings.

When something like that happens and I can’t hide my anger, I do a couple of good deeds to try and balance things out. There was a woman in line in front of me with a baby girl of toddler age, who had just lost whatever she was playing with in her hands, letting out a large cry. The object disappeared underneath a display area where candies are found when you check out, so I thought I’d find it, and turn it over to the parent to see if the toy could be salvaged or discarded, depending on how dirty it was.

I couldn’t find it, but I got a nice “thank you” from the parent.

When I got back to the car, there were grocery carts strewn all over the place, including blocking out some parking spaces. (I’ll let you in on a little secret: I applied at Walmart last week and applied for a Cart Pusher position at this store. Haven’t heard from them.) I took three  of the carts blocking the area, and sent them to the nearest cart bay.

Got back home without incident.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

