Last Christmas

georgemichael

As I type this, there are slightly less than six days left in the year of 2016. Obituary wise, it has claimed another notable victim: George Michael, pop singer, lead singer of the 1980’s group Wham!

I was almost 14 in 1985 when I went to my local K-Mart in Largo (which is now the site of a Walmart Supercenter) and bought the 45 of “Everything She Wants” in their record department, which was another in a string of big hits for the group. Vinyl records…remember those?

George now joins a small group of those who’ve commercially sung a Christmas song to have perished on Christmas. Dean Martin, James Brown, Eartha Kitt, and probably a few others out there that I’m forgetting.

Can we just end the year now and start 2017 early?

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

One thought on “Last Christmas”

  1. I was 14 in 1985, and I got Wham!’s album Make It Big on LP (I don’t remember if I bought it myself or someone else bought it for me). I listened to the entire album so much I’m surprised I didn’t wear it out. My favorites were “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” and “Everything She Wants” but I loved the entire album! I even had their first album, “Fantastic,” for a while on CD (not sure if I lost it in a move or it got stolen, but I don’t believe I have it anymore)…I couldn’t believe the difference between their sound on that album and the next one, or his first two solo albums. I also loved “Freedom 90” and of course “Last Christmas” has been a favorite since I first heard it. The irony was not lost on me that he died on Christmas, and I agree with you, can we just start 2017 now? And hope no more famous people die too soon next year? Between Alan Rickman, David Bowie, and now George I don’t know how much more I can take.

Leave a Reply

