Three No Trump

I’m very tempted to comment on the whole kerfuffle over one of President Trump’s more recent executive orders on refugees immigrating to the United States. As many of you saw over the weekend, that turned out to be a bit of a mess, and I want to give that a few days to see how that story progresses before making comments on it. There’s much more to that story then what meets the media eye, hence my precautious nature. Plus, I think something bigger is going on than just this one issue.

What I have to say this Monday morning is this: as Trump’s first term marches on, watch three US senators very closely. Keep an eye out on John McCain, Lindsey Graham, and Marco Rubio, the Republican senators from Arizona, South Carolina, and Florida respectively.

Maybe it’s all the years I’ve watched reality TV, but I always try to keep my eye on small alliances inside big groups. That’s usually where power lies, or where power dies. If these three powerful Republicans (who’ve all been dissed by Trump at one point or another in the past two years or so) turn on their President, it turns the GOP 52-48 advantage in the US Senate into at least a 51-49 disadvantage, plus whatever trigger effects would subsequently take place, possibly leading to some sort of coup in the Republican Party.

Just my tip of the moment as things continue to evolve. I don’t claim to be a political expert, just someone who is watching these relationships evolve.

Leave a Reply

