Hoop Dreams

vsin03202017
The leader board after two rounds of the “Beat The Spread” challenge on VSIN. I’m the guy who’s #8, actually tied in sixth.
I hate to keep talking basketball so much lately, but recently I’ve had a good bit of luck come my way.

As of late, I’ve been listening or watching VSIN off of either Facebook Live or YouTube, and heard that the network had a contest where you pick games in the NCAA basketball tournament against a point spread.

I wasn’t really paying attention to it, honestly. It wasn’t something I was keeping all the picks on a sheet of paper and eyeballing my progress every 10 minutes. But when I picked South Carolina and the points against Duke in the round of 32, and then seeing Duke lose outright to the Gamecocks, it began to dwell on me that I might be doing well.

Now I’m in a three-way tie for 6th out of over 1,100 pickers. If I win, it’s a trip to the South Point in Vegas, plus $1,000. I’d like to win, sure. But right now, I’m just enjoying the view.

After the “Sweet 16” round, I thought I had stunk up the joint, but I surprised myself again. I went 5-2-1 with my picks against the spread (I thought I had changed a couple of them around when I hadn’t), good for 5.5 more points to get me to 36.5 as a total. At that point, I was at 36.5 points, tied for second.

Over the weekend, I decided to take a gamble. I picked all the underdogs on all four games, taking South Carolina, Xavier, Oregon, and Kentucky. I wasn’t thinking all four would win, but that each team was capable of keeping the game close and within the point spread.

With Kentucky losing by two points as three point underdogs, I hit three out of four picks. I’m still tied for second, but if I had picked Gonzaga, I’d be ahead. 

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

Leave a Reply

