Roger, Over And Out

It’s funny how you sometimes remember the smallest details in your life, like where you were when you first discovered something.

I remember where I was when I saw Fox News for the first time. It was on July 25, 1999 in Westchester County, New York, where I was for a relative’s wedding. (Actually, the wedding itself was in a church in The Bronx, but everything else took place in Westchester.) Then, when I came back to the Tampa Bay area from living in Charlotte, North Carolina for a year, FNC was on the cable system I had.

As many know now, Roger Ailes passed on Thursday at age 77. Not only did he have a hand in the creation of Fox News, but also was involved in the formation of MSNBC and the discovery of Rush Limbaugh for his national syndication run. 

Certainly I get why a lot of people hated Roger professionally and personally. However, I think the true test of the value of somebody’s life is to see if their field of expertise could be recreated if they hadn’t existed, or perhaps better put, if their accomplishments had changed anything.

I guess the argument could be made that TV and the political realm would have existed without Ailes, but it most definitely the face of each field changed under him. Again, some would say not for the better, bit it did change none the less.

Leave a Reply

