Ten Minutes To Win It

In order to find that perfect balance between player safety and what draws the optimum TV audience (I guess), the NFL adapted a rule change that will shorten overtime periods in preseason and regular season games from 15 minutes down to 10. 

I don’t know why overtime is needed in preseason games, so I’d be okay with getting rid of that altogether. But reducing regular season OT down to 10 minutes strikes me as lunacy, as it will likely create more tie games. 

I know most of the world has soccer, where tie games are commonplace. That is unless you need a winner, and they have penalty kick shootouts for that. But we here in America like to have winners and losers to everything.

It kind of reminds me of how boxing reacted to the death of Duk Koo Kim in 1982. Within five years, the sport’s governing bodies thought they had the answer: reduce title fights from 15 rounds to 12. It didn’t prevent fighters from dying, as a punch thrown at any time could still, hypothetically do that. But it looked good and made the “TV gods” happy. 

I don’t know how well this is going to go over, so we’ll see. I could be wrong. 

Leave a Reply

