General Stonewall Sessions

IMG_0256

(NOTE: I originally wrote this before the attack that took place in Alexandria, Va. Wednesday morning. With the exception of changing dating, I’ve left this article as it is.)

A week ago, I had mentioned that I didn’t think James Comey proved his case against President Trump. On this past Tuesday, and with much network ballyhoo, Attorney General Jeff Sessions testified before the same Senate committee.

Whatever momentum the Trump presidency gained might have been lost, as I didn’t think Mr. Sessions did all that well.

What irked me was this use of “confidentiality” of conversations between President Trump and his charges, like Sessions. The way I understand executive privilege, you either have to use it, or you don’t use it. Several Trump employees (Sessions, Dan Coats, Mike Rogers) have attempted this claim of confidentiality as a way to reserve the right of the President to use executive privilege later on.

Isn’t that contempt of Congress?

I’m surprised the Democrats made no efforts to compel Sessions to answer the questions they posed, but with a Republican majority, they probably thought the efforts would be fruitless.

As for Trump, it seems to me that they want this “cloud” over their heads, and merely act like they don’t. It’ll be up to all of us to figure out why.

Leave a Reply

