Money Making More Money

conormcgregor.png
MMA champion Conor McGregor.

Over the years, I have enjoyed watching prizefighting. I guess my Dad, who was quite a fight fan, taught me to love it.  The Rocky movies helped that out too, I guess. But this proposed piece of prizefighting between Floyd “Money” Mayweather and Conor McGregor, I can’t help but think that this is a scam of the highest order.

As I’m sure many of you sports fans of a younger age than me know, McGregor is not a boxer by training, but an MMA fighter. If I understand the rules of the bout correctly, the fight will not be under MMA rules, but the normal rules for boxing in Nevada, with the fight taking place in some Las Vegas venue to be determined in late August.

It’s a one of a kind fight, sure. But taking an MMA fighter and turning him into a boxer is kind of like turning a chess grandmaster and teaching him checkers. Apples and oranges. Mayweather is one of the great fighters in this era where boxing has become a forgotten and ancient science, thanks in part to the UFC and other MMA circuits like it.

If Conor wins, I’ll be the first to admit I was wrong. But even at 40, I don’t see how Mayweather loses, unless he slips and busts his head.

Author: tbpauly

Former radio professional (1989-1996), currently residing in Pinellas Park, FL. Blogging since 2004, at least.

1 thought on “Money Making More Money”

Leave a Reply

