Offshoots And Variations 

The Home Run Derby. 

Big 3 basketball. 

Skills competitions at All Star Games of various sports. 

Can’t say I care for any of them, because they are offshoots of bigger sports. Though I admit women playing beach volleyball has appeal to me, maybe for the wrong reasons. There is a big tournament held every year over in the Lutz area north of Tampa, held by naked teams of six at a nudist colony. Never had the desire to see it. 

Miniature golf has always interested me, but it’s rarely played on TV professionally these days, and when it is, it’s not for a lot of money. 

Rhythmic gymnastics during the Olympics? Don’t get it. 

I do enjoy seven on seven rugby as a variant to the two disciplines of rugby, Rugby League and Rugby Union. 

The CFL is not really what I’d consider a complete offshoot of American football, as each game evolved differently from rugby. 

I’ve seen 20/20 cricket and one day cricket before. Each beat test cricket that goes on for days. 

Video gaming played competitively is an offshoot of itself. I imagine the games will keep changing. 

Online poker used to be a thing here until the government intervened. I don’t see them disengaging that anytime soon. 

I guess the big games get boring, so smaller big games will always be around. 

Leave a Reply

