Staying Humble Playing Chess

Much like religion, chess has been one of those things that’s been “around” in my life.

I once had one of those Radio Shack chess games, and then one of the Chessmaster Windows games. A few weeks back, I got the Chess.com app, and I play a few times a week

Much like how I’ve gotten into religion the past 18 months or so, I’m trying to learn more about chess beyond basics. I play for fun, not to be the next Bobby Fischer.

My game needs work. Even on the free version of the app, you can play all kinds of bots. A few hours ago, I got beat in five moves.

Usually, I play the bots because they’re unlimited time games. Playing online opponents involves a time element. The longer I can think about the moves, the better I do.

But I need to play online more. Maybe I just don’t like getting beat all the time. But I think to get good at this, I have to take my whippings.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.